• Neag School Names Three Research Award Recipients

    This past week at the Neag School’s December faculty-staff meeting, Del Siegle, Associate Dean for Research and Faculty Affairs, announced three recipients of the Neag School 2017 Research Awards. 


    2017 Outstanding Student Researcher Award — Charles D. T. Macaulay

    Charles D. T. Macaulay is a graduate student in the sport management program who was nominated for the award by Joseph Cooper. The author or co-author of three research articles, published in Sociology and Anthropology, Sport Management Review, and International Review for the Sociology of Sport, Macaulay has also presented research work at the 10th annual College Sport Research Institute (CSRI). See a photo of Macaulay accepting the award at last week’s faculty-staff meeting.


    2017 Outstanding Early Career Scholar Award — Devin Kearns

    In addition to publishing in such top journals as Journal of Educational Psychology, Exceptional Children, and Reading Research Quarterly, Devin Kearns has grants and contracts totaling $7.5 million. He also has collaborated with Vanderbilt University, University of Maryland, and Haskins Laboratory, and has pending projects with Florida State University and the University of South Carolina.


    2017 Distinguished Scholar Award — Michael D. Coyne

    Michael Coyne, who has spent 16 years at UConn, has reviewed 60 peer-reviewed publications in prestigious journals. He has been a principal or co-principal investigator in grant-funded projects exceeding $25 million. His research efforts are widely recognized and have been incorporated into school psychology; general and special education; and educational psychology. His practice and systems efforts are influencing local and national policy on adoption of and use of evidence-based instructional practices. In addition, he serves as co-director of the Center for Behavioral Education and Research (CBER). Check out a photo from the meeting of Coyne accepting the award.

    For more information, contact: Del Siegle at

If you have any questions, please contact Neag Office of Communications at 860-486-3675.